Chocolate Waffle “Sundae” – Allergen-Free!

So I probably shouldn’t admit that I fed this to my Certain Little Someone for dinner… but in my defense, there was very little sugar involved, I swear!

I even fed it to myself, because I am trying to omit some allergens – namely, egg, dairy and peanut – from my diet for Baby Boy’s sake to see if it helps clear up his eczema (more on that in another post).

I don’t really have a recipe for this because I used the recipes of others smarter than I, but it was my own idea to combine them in the way that I did, so I’ll link you up to the recipes I used and tell you how I did it.

The components of the “sundae” (it’s not really a sundae at all, just sort of looks and maybe even tastes a bit like one) are: chocolate waffles, yogurt, bananas and chocolate sauce. Here are the specifics:

  1. Use this Chocolate Waffle recipe from Cook It Allergen Free (an amazing resource, btw). I used coconut oil in place of the margarine, and I used 1 1/4 cups of  a sorghum flour blend instead of the different flours listed at the beginning of the recipe. I personally liked the fact that it only uses a little bit of sugar, but the resulting waffle was not very sweet at all, so if you want a sweeter taste (for example, if you’re making it as a dessert), add a little extra sugar.
  2. I topped mine with bananas, but berries like strawberry or raspberry would also be particularly delicious. Even peaches or baked cinnamon apples would be yummy.
  3. I used plain sweetened homemade coconut yogurt. You can use any variety of non-dairy plain, sweet, vanilla or flavored yogurt that you want! Be creative! Also, you could use this coconut whipped topping, which I haven’t tried but am definitely going to as it looks amazing. To really make it like a sundae, use coconut ice cream (or other non-dairy ice cream) or a fruit sorbet instead.
  4. I used this recipe for chocolate sauce. For one thing, it’s dairy-free (which most, but not all, chocolate sauce/syrup recipes are). I also love that it uses a lot less sugar than most other recipes: one chocolate syrup recipe I’ve seen calls for 2 cups of sugar! I was afraid that this sauce would be too bitter, but it was perfect: a nice dark chocolate taste without any bitterness at all. It does help to use a Dutch processed cocoa, I think.

Put it All Together

To serve your chocolate waffle “sundae”, first place a waffle on each plate. Top with sliced banana (about 1/2 of one banana for each serving) or other fruit (about 1/2 cup per serving). Place a generous scoop (about 1/4-1/3 cup) of yogurt, whipped “cream” or ice cream on top of the fruit. Drizzle 1 or 2 TBSPs of chocolate sauce over all.

One Comment on “Chocolate Waffle “Sundae” – Allergen-Free!”

  1. It looks delicious. Thanks for visiting my blog.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.