Sweet Potato Pancakes

IMG_2757Pancakes can be a minefield for food allergies, considering wheat, milk and eggs are standard ingredients for any good pancake recipe. Try substituting one of them, and you’ll have some success. Try substituting all three, and, well… let’s just say it’s something rather short of success.

Instead of trying to transform your favorite pancake recipe so your food-allergic child can enjoy it, scrap it and start with something different altogether, like these sweet potato pancakes.

Because sweet potato puree is the focus of these pancakes, the other ingredients fade into the background and become less important, leaving you free to enjoy the golden crusty but tender goodness. My Certain Little Someone devours these like they’re little bites of heaven.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacer

2 TBSP water

1/2 cup mashed sweet potato

1/2 cup rice flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

dash of cinnamon (optional)

1/4-1/2 cup hemp or coconut milk

1 TBSP oil of choice

Briskly whisk the egg replIMG_2759acer and water until foamy. Stir in the mashed sweet potato until well blended. Add dry ingredients, mixing well. Stir in milk until desired consistency is achieved (Don’t make them too thin, or they won’t cook well. Thicker is better.). Gently stir in oil (you can also use melted safe margarine). Lightly grease a griddle and fry pancakes over medium heat until golden brown on both sides.

My Certain Little Someone loves these plain, but you can also serve them like regular pancakes with safe margarine and syrup, or whatever toppings you like on your pancakes.

The only downside to this recipe is that it only makes 4 or 5 regular pancakes, or 8 “baby” pancakes. I’ve never tried doubling it, but it should be do-able, however I wouldn’t recommend tripling it.

~He guided them to their desired haven. Ps 107:30~

4 Comments on “Sweet Potato Pancakes”

  1. humbledmum says:

    Hi.
    Stumbled across your blog when looking for meatball recipes. Your recipes sound so simple and yummy! My child doesnt have a food allergy but my friend and her son do, so I’ll forward the link to them.

    Do share more simple yummy recipes especially those “approved” by your Certain Little Someone!

    And may the Lord guide you in bringing up your child.

  2. Lisa says:

    My “Certain Little Someone” approved these too! He’s never had pancakes before (I tried another recipe once and he didn’t like them–but then, I didn’t either!), so he didn’t want to try. I poked it in and he changed his mind. Ate almost the whole batch in 2 meals! I posted pictures here: http://lifeofahappymom.com/blog/2011/01/06/best-allergy-free-pancakes-ever/

  3. Terri Wood says:

    Hey Lisa,

    Awesome sweet potato cakes! Who said gluten intolerance was the end of the world anyway?

    Terri 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    Just wanted to make a note about multiplying the recipe. I have made triple batches of these with amazing success. I also substitute the Ener-G egg replacer with chia seeds; I use the same amount, and they turn out just fine and even more nutritious. I have also used flax seeds (my son is allergic to potatoes). I use millet flour, too, since he gets enough rice in other things, and I can get 5 lb of millet flour for $3.50. They freeze really well (which is why I make big batches), and I’ve been known to take them with me to restaurants, since they are so good plain.

    BTW, I miss your posts. It’s been a long time!


Leave a Reply

