Strawberry Banana Muffins

IMG_2870 You may be discouraged and/or frustrated about trying to find healthy but delicious snack foods for your allergic little one. I know that I find myself in that position at times. If you’re like me, you can’t afford the expensive allergen-free foods at the grocery store, but making them at home can be a daunting task, what with all the specialty flours the recipes call for.

I found the basic recipe for these muffins on the back of  the Bob’s Red Mill rice flour package, and have adapted it in a million different ways. The good news is, no matter how I change the recipe up, they till turn out great muffins. When I was nursing my Certain Little Someone, I would make these often for myself and my DH, and we both enjoyed them… which is saying a lot for rice-flour based muffins!

What I love about these is that they don’t require a special mix of flours. Rice flour is all you need, and it works. In fact, the only special ingredient is Ener-G egg replacer, which is relatively inexpensive and easy to use.

This recipe makes a small batch, but I don’t recommend doubling it, if only because any leftovers will quickly get hard, dry and crumbly. However, I have had great success in storing them in the freezer. When I remove them from the freezer, I defrost them in the microwave for a few seconds and eat them immediately.

The other thing I love about this recipe is that it is so simple: just dump the ingredients in a bowl, mix and put it in the oven!

You can find the freeze-dried strawberry-banana bits in the toddler snack section at the grocery store. Alternatively, you could use fresh or frozen, but such a small amount is required, I prefer to use the freeze-dried bits, which I usually have on hand.

Strawberry-Banana Muffins

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacer powder

2 TBSP water

1/2 cup strawberry-banana juice (I like Mott’s for Tots)

2 TBSP sugar

2 TBSP oil of choice (I use coconut)

1 cup rice flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3 TBSP freeze-dried strawberry banana bits

Preheat oven to 425F. Make the egg replacer according to package directions in a medium size bowl. Add the juice, sugar, oil, flour, baking powder and salt and mix well with a wooden spoon. Carefully and gently stir in the strawberry banana bits. Immediately spoon batter into a greased muffin tin (I usually make 12 mini-muffins, or you can make 6 regular-size muffins) and bake for 15-18 minutes.

My Certain Little Someone loves to have these for breakfast!

~My yoke is easy, and my burden is light. Matthew 11:30~

URS

This recipe is part of the Ultimate Recipe Swap at Life As Mom.

Leave a Reply

