An Allergen-Free Christmas Treat

Allergen-Free Snowballs

I don’t know about you, but I love baking all kinds of goodies at Christmastime. It seems like the perfect excuse to pull out all the stops and create all the delicious confections I don’t make time for the rest of the year.

But pretty much every recipe I use calls for flour, butter, eggs, and often nuts of some kind. Not exactly allergy-friendly fare.

I didn’t want my Certain Little Someone to be left out, even though he doesn’t really quite know what’s going on yet (he’s just over one year old, after all), so I determined to find at least one recipe I could make that he would enjoy.

The first one was a total flop, and I don’t think there is any way to rescue it. I think the recipe itself was fatally flawed, so I gave up on it.

Thankfully, the second recipe I tried was a big success! Not only did it turn out well, my Certain Little Someone loves these little “snowballs” and will eat as many as I let him! And what’s even better (for me, at least) is that it doesn’t require a whole bunch of weird ingredients, and it’s no-bake, so it’s very easy. Cooking and baking allergen-free shouldn’t be difficult, because any mom, with or without cooking and baking experience, could find herself in the position of suddenly needing to feed a child with multiple allergies. The more difficult it is, the more stressful and discouraging it will be to the mother of a newly-diagnosed child. I did use coconut oil, but if you don’t have that or prefer not to use it, you can use a dairy-free, soy-free margarine. For me, coconut oil is cheaper and healthier than the other options.

The original recipe called for dried coconut, but I didn’t use it for a number of reasons: I don’t usually have it on hand because I’m not fond of it myself, I’m not comfortable feeding it to a toddler because of the choking factor, and it seemed easily enough replaceable with any number of other things. Also, I halved the recipe because it seemed like the original had a large enough quantity of ingredients to make enough cookies to feed an army. I only have one little toddler!

Chocolate Snowballs

1/2 cup coconut oil

2 TBSP water

1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup sugar

3 TBSP cocoa

2 cups quick oats

1/2 cup puffed or crispy rice

powdered sugar

Beat the oil, water and vanilla together at medium speed until creamy. Beat in sugar and cocoa. Stir in oats and puffed rice; mix well. Shape into 1″ balls and roll in the powdered sugar. Refrigerate.

That’s all there is to it! They should be stored in the refrigerator, but I like to soften mine at room temperature for a little bit before I give it to my toddler. Older children (and adults!) should have no problem eating them straight from the fridge. Whether they have food allergies or not, everyone in your family will enjoy this “snowy” treat!

Leave a Reply

