Allergen-Free Yogurt Pineapple Muffins

My Certain Little Someone loooooves muffins with his breakfast, so I always keep a stash in the freezer. That means I have to bake a batch for him at least once every other week, but I don’t mind, because I have a lot of fun coming up with different varieties and flavors inspired by whatever I happen to have on hand. So far, he seems to have enjoyed each one as much as another, and none have been a disappointment.

I was particularly pleased with my success this time, though, because I upped the ante just a bit on the health factor by using (safe) yogurt to replace the liquid and honey instead of sugar. My Certain Little Someone didn’t seem to notice a difference one way or another, but ate these muffins with just as much gusto as he usually does! One day soon, I’m going to try muffins with oat flour or brown rice flour, and then they will be even healthier, but for now, I am satisfied with these little charmers.

I used coconut milk yogurt, which is my favorite non-dairy yogurt. Organic soy yogurt would probably be my second choice, but that is not an option as he is currently still allergic to soy. I try to stay away from rice milk products as they are nutritionally inferior (not to mention he already eats a lot of rice in other ways and I try to diversify his diet as much as possible), but rice milk yogurt would certainly work in this recipe as well.

I used canned crushed pineapple because it is what I had, but fresh pineapple would work, although I recommend pureeing it at least a little before adding it to the batter.In either case, don’t drain the pineapple as the extra moisture is needed in this recipe.

If I had made these for myself, I would have added some candied ginger, but I wasn’t sure how my Certain Little Someone would like that, so I left it out.

Yogurt Pineapple Muffins

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacer powder

2 TBSP water

1/2 cup vanilla coconut yogurt

1 TBSP honey

2 TBSP coconut oil (or oil of choice)

1 cup rice flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup crushed pineapple

Whisk egg replacer powder and water together in a medium size bowl until powder is dissolved and mixture is frothy. Add remaining ingredients, except pineapple, and stir well until blended. Gently stir in pineapple. Place in greased muffin tin and bake at 425F for 15-20 min, until tops are slightly golden.

This recipe will make 12 mini muffins or 6 regular size muffins. Any muffins not eaten immediately should be stored in the freezer until ready to eat.

5 Comments on “Allergen-Free Yogurt Pineapple Muffins”

  1. Chandrikka says:

    These sound so delicious! I love coconut milk yogurt, too! And the kefir by So Delicious is pretty amazing. Even my eight-year-old daughter likes the strawberry! I can’t wait to make these. I know we’re going to enjoy them. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

    • Thanks! I thought this recipe turned out a nice moist and springy muffin – let me know how you like them when you try them! Yes, the So Delicious yogurt is great. I also like their line of kefir. Oh, and let’s not forget the ice cream;)

  2. […] room, some homemade muffins or biscuits from the […]

  3. Kristina says:

    Haha…not allergen free.
    I’m severely allergic to pineapple.
    -_-


Leave a Reply

