A Great Back-to-School Allergen-Free Snack!

I’m sure all you allergy mamas can understand how thrilling it is to find a recipe for an allergen-free snack that is easy to whip up, tasty to any palate, and doesn’t require any special ingredients. It feels like a major triumph, at least to me.

This is one of those recipes. I have a box and a half of corn flakes that I want to use up before they go stale, so I was browsing around online for a recipe that was quick and easy since I had a lot of other to-dos on my plate today. I stumbled across this recipe: Chocolate Covered Cornflakes by none other than famous chocolatier Jacque Torres. It sounded delicious and pretty easy, but I only had chocolate chips – no bittersweet chocolate – and I didn’t really want to fool with tempering the chocolate (although the directions for tempering chocolate on that page were the easiest I’ve ever seen, so I’m going to give it a go one of these days!).

I decided to browse around the web and see if anyone had ever tried that recipe with chocolate chips and what the result was. It turns out that there are quite a few versions of that recipe floating around the internet, and most of the ones that used chocolate chips also used butter. Bummer. I didn’t want to deal with substitutions; I just wanted a simple make-it-quick recipe with what I had on hand.

So I did it anyway! And I was more or less successful. If you want appealing, glossy confections that don’t melt at room temperature, then the original recipe is best. But if you don’t mind refrigerating your confection, and the possible resulting white crystallization, then go for this quick and easy version. It tastes just as great!

I used corn flakes, but you can use any kind of flaked cereal, such as rice or bran. Healthier brands – without high fructose corn syrup – are ideal. I used Trader Joe’s semi-sweet chocolate chips, but those do have soy lecithin, so if you have a severe sensitivity to soy, it’s better to go with Enjoy Life chocolate chips. I threw in raisins and they add a touch of sweetness, which is nice, since the chocolate really isn’t all that sweet. You could also throw in nuts (if no allergies, of course) or mini marshmallows, or dried cranberries, or sunflower seeds… the possibilities are almost endless!

Chocolate Covered Flakes

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3 1/2 cups cereal flakes

1/2 cup raisins

Melt chocolate slowly in a double boiler, or in the microwave, 30 seconds at a time. Place cereal in a bowl, and pour the chocolate over it. Stir with a silicone spoon or spatula (so it doesn’t stick) until all the flakes are evenly coated. Add raisins and stir them in. Use an ice cream scoop to scoop even portions of the mixture onto wax paper or a silicone mat. It’s helpful to crush the mixture into the spoon to help hold its form before releasing onto the mat or waxed paper. Place in refrigerator to cool and harden. Store, covered, in refrigerator.

One other great thing about this recipe is that it is a no-bake recipe that does not require peanut butter. Of course, any of those recipes can be made with other nut butters or sun butter instead, but those are too expensive for me to keep on hand. My Certain Little Someone thoroughly enjoyed this little treat, and I look forward to making them often for a quick snack for him!

2 Comments on “A Great Back-to-School Allergen-Free Snack!”

  1. Jan says:

    Looks yummy and easy!


Leave a Reply

