My Best Biscuits Yet!

First of all, I have to apologize for the terrible picture. I keep forgetting to take a picture in the daylight, and then I’m stuck with awful lighting that makes it impossible to snap a good picture. So sorry!

On to the main subject… I have been working on perfecting this recipe off and on for some time now, probably close to a year. Each rendition has been edible, but not perfect, so I keep trying. What I want is a light fluffy biscuit, like a biscuit should be, but I kept ending up with hockey pucks to one degree or another. They were all edible, more or less, and my Certain Little Someone was happy to eat them with some jam, but they did not meet my satisfaction.

Finally, finally, I met with success! These sweet potato biscuits rose nicely, and were so soft and fluffy, with a flaky crumb like biscuits should be. They are delicious whether or not you have food allergies, which is the ultimate test for any allergen-free recipe!

What made the difference? Any or all of the following factors:

– I used a chickpea flour blend. I think the extra protein really helped the biscuit hold together better without making it tough. A sorghum flour blend comes in second, and it may work just as well with all the other factors in place.

-I  did the drop biscuit method instead of rolling and cutting. Rolling and cutting them out just seemed to make them tough every time, no matter what else I did. Perhaps patting the dough gently and shaping it would also work, if you want more of a biscuit shape.

-I used  a little more liquid than I normally would for a biscuit dough, which obviously in turn made the finished product moist rather than dry.

-I  used palm oil shortening (non-hydrogenated), which I think is absolutely essential. I’ve tried it with coconut oil and margarine and neither one works quite as well. The end result is so much better than any other combination I’ve tried, and I’m going to stick with what works now!

So here it is…

The Best Sweet Potato Biscuits (allergen-free)

2 1/2 cups chickpea flour blend

1/4 cup raw sugar

1 TBSP baking powder

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 cup non-hydrogenated shortening

3/4-1 cup mashed sweet potato

1/2-1 cup coconut milk.

Whisk together dry ingredients until well blended. Cut in shortening until you have pea-sized clumps. Mix together sweet potato and 1/2 cup coconut milk until blended. Stir into biscuit mixture. Add coconut milk until you have a sticky moist dough that holds its shape but is not firm enough to roll out. Drop by large scoops (approximately ice cream scoop size or a bit larger) onto a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake at 450F for about 12-14 minutes, until biscuits are golden on the top and bottom. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly before serving.

These are delicious with safe margarine and jam or honey.

3 Comments on “My Best Biscuits Yet!”

  1. Libby says:

    Sweet potato biscuits have been on my to do list for a while now. Thanks for inspiring me – the coconut milk is genius!

  2. […] room, some homemade muffins or biscuits from the […]


Leave a Reply

