No More Rice Milk Down the Drain!

I only use rice milk when baking and cooking for my Certain Little Someone, so more often than not, a carton sits in the refrigerator, half empty, until I end up dumping it down the drain.

Not any more!

I don’t know why I haven’t tried this simple little trick sooner, but better late than never, right?

All I did was pour the remainder of a carton of rice milk into a regular old ice cube tray and stick it in the freezer (on the “safe” shelf in the freezer to avoid cross-contamination). Whenever I need rice milk for my baking, all I have to do is take out an appropriate amount of cubes, and pop the try back in the freezer. I melt the cubes in a glass measuring cup in the microwave for about a minute, and voila! Rice milk! The 6 cubes featured in this picture made about 2/3 cup of rice milk once melted down. Ice cube trays vary slightly in size (mine are kind of small) so you’ll have to play around with it a bit to figure out exactly how many cubes equals how much liquid rice milk.

2 Comments on “No More Rice Milk Down the Drain!”

  1. Tali Etra says:

    genius. Love it. thanks for sharing.

  2. Bev says:

    What a great tip, I also waste a lot of rice milk for the same reason.


Leave a Reply

