Coffee (otherwise known as the Simplest Allergen-Free Hot Chocolate Ever!)

Don’t worry; it’s not coffee at all! Trust me; I wouldn’t give that to my child at the tender age of two!

However, no matter how many times I told him it was actually “hot chocolate”, he refused to believe me and insisted that he was drinking “coffee”. I guess he wanted to be like Mommy!

If your little one would like some hot chocolate, too, but you’ve been stumped by dairy allergies, here’s the simplest idea ever:

  • Buy a container of chocolate rice milk.
  • Pour some into a microwave-safe mug.
  • Heat for a minute or two in the microwave.
  • Cool slightly and enjoy!

The great thing is that most marshmallows are allergen-friendly (if not exactly healthy…), so you can throw a few in there for a truly decadent hot chocolate experiment.

Or, to celebrate the season, throw a peppermint candy or mini candy cane into the hot chocolate and stir until it melts: Peppermint Hot Chocolate!

I don’t usually buy the flavored rice milks, but I think I’m going to keep a box of the chocolate kind on hand throughout the winter season.  What about you?

One Comment on “Coffee (otherwise known as the Simplest Allergen-Free Hot Chocolate Ever!)”

  1. Bev says:

    aw bless children are so sweet! My nephew has a cup of warm milk with marshmallows when my sister takes him to a cafe and he insists it’s a “babycino”! x


Leave a Reply

