Allergen-Free Fudge for Christmas!

This fudge is so simple, it’s hard to believe it’s made from scratch, let alone allergen-free! Theoretically, I suppose, they should be called “Fudge Bars” rather than actual fudge, but in all practicality… it’s fudge!

Easy, delicious, and allergen-free: not necessarily words that often go together. But I promise you it’s true, and I’m pretty sure that if you try these, they will become a stand-by in your house, especially this time of year.

I did use Bakers’ semi-sweet baking chocolate in this recipe, which contains soy lecithin. Soy lecithin is not a problem for my Certain Little Someone, but I know that some people’s soy sensitivity is so high that they cannot consume it. In that case, an allergen-free chocolate chip like Enjoy Life brand might work, although I haven’t tried it myself, so I can’t guarantee that.

Coconut Chocolate Fudge Bars

1 lb semi-sweet baking chocolate, chopped

3/4 cup canned coconut milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

1/2 cup chopped/flaked/shredded coconut

In a double boiler (I use a medium sized Pyrex glass bowl set over 1 1/2″ simmering water in a medium sized pot), slowly melt 12 oz. of chocolate with the coconut milk, stirring to prevent burning. When mixture is smooth and thoroughly melted, remove from heat and add vanilla and salt, stirring well. Set aside to cool slightly. In the microwave at 20 second intervals, melt remaining 4 oz. chocolate, stirring in between until melted and smooth.

Thoroughly grease an 8″ square baking pan, then line with wax paper. Spread the 4 oz. melted chocolate in a thin layer over the wax paper, and chill for approximately 10 minutes (or until set) in the refrigerator. When it is completely set, remove from refrigerator and pour chocolate/coconut mixture over the chocolate layer. Use a knife or spatula to smooth the top. Gently press coconut into the fudge. Allow to come to room temperature, then refrigerate at least 3 hours or overnight.

After refrigerating, remove contents from pan by lifting the wax paper. Turn upside down onto cutting board, and carefully peel off the paper. Use a sharp small knife to score the bottom of the fudge bars into approximately 64 1″ squares. Once it is scored, use the knife to cut them apart. Allow fudge bars to stand at room temperature for a few minutes to soften before serving.

**You could also use safe mini marshmallows on top in place of the dried coconut.

4 Comments on “Allergen-Free Fudge for Christmas!”

  1. Lisa says:

    The recipe calls for semisweet baking chocolate. What is in that? You see, my son is more allergic than most kids, and I’d want to know what was in it.

    On the off chance there is something he couldn’t have, could I use powder and if so, how would I need to modify it? I could even use carob (he had that once and it seemed okay). It’s naturally semisweet, and I have a lot of it. Thanks!

    • It all depends on the brand, but usually it has cocoa butter (not a dairy product), sugar, soy lecithin, vanilla and possibly salt. Some brands will include some form of dairy, so as with all products, you need to check the ingredient listing religiously before purchasing and using (if dairy is one of his allergens). I am curious as to how well this recipe would work with cocoa powder and oil, but I haven’t been brave enough to try it yet! Let me know if you try it and it works! As for carob, I have no experience with that, but I imagine it would work. If soy lecithin is a problem, you may be able to substitute Enjoy Life’s chocolate chips which are completely free of soy.

  2. Lisa says:

    That’s a thought. I still haven’t tried coconut on him. Well, I tried making coconut milk, but he didn’t like it. I thought it was good–not sure what his problem is! So he’s never had enough to really test for a reaction. Thankfully none of his reactions have been life-threatening!!!

    We are avoiding soy in all forms at this point. I don’t want to take a chance! Maybe I ought to make these up with carob powder and extra oil and see how they go over. I know he would eat them! I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Also, would you please email me. I want to contact you about something, but I can’t find your contact address anywhere. You should be able to see it (and if you wish to delete this part of my comment afterward, feel free!).

  3. Bev says:

    wow! This also looks delicous!


Leave a Reply

