Yummy, Easy, Allergen-Free Breakfast: Muesli!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted! Oops! Perhaps you’ll forgive me if I tell you the reasons why:

  1. I had a baby! A cute little Baby Boy, who is rapidly gaining weight, which makes me hopeful that food allergies are perhaps not on his horizon.
  2. I’m working on an eBook entitled “No Allergens, NO FUSS!: 70+ Easy Kid-Friendly Recipes Free of the Top 8 Allergens”. Sound good? Stay tuned; I’m close to the end, and will be offering it soon here and elsewhere.

I do have something to offer you today – a delicious easy breakfast that is also easy to make allergen-free. AND easy to customize, so if you have non-allergic eaters, you can make theirs with regular dairy, nuts and other allergens if you so desire.

This recipe makes 1 serving. If you need more than that, I would recommend simply filling each bowl with one serving’s worth of ingredients rather than trying to double the recipe in one bowl and then divvying it out. That also makes it easier to customize for each person. Alternatively, you can set out all the ingredient options on the table and let everyone mix their own muesli.

Allergen-Free Muesli
1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup non-dairy milk

1 small apple, chopped

1/4 cup dried cranberries or raisins

1 tsp honey

1 tsp cinnamon

Place all ingredients in a bowl and stir. Allow to sit overnight in the refrigerator, or on the counter at room temperature for 10-15 minutes. The liquid will soften the oats.

Optional and alternate ingredients:

Chopped Nuts (if tolerated)

Seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, etc.)

Pear

Berries (fresh or dried)

Brown or raw sugar

Candied ginger

Dark chocolate shavings or little chunks

Dried (or fresh) coconut

… the possibilities are practically endless! Experiment, and enjoy!

 

2 Comments on “Yummy, Easy, Allergen-Free Breakfast: Muesli!”

  1. Lisa says:

    I was excited to see you had posted! I will definitely be wanting one of those books. Please let me know if you ever plan to sell it through affiliate methods; if you do, I will want to sell it on my blog!

  2. Thanks! I checked out your blog about your son’s eczema and allergies. Eczema sounds like such a harmless (relatively) condition, but when your child actually experiences it, especially a severe case, it really takes a lot out of you emotionally and even physically. I remember those days, and if it’s any encouragement, my son’s eczema is a LOT better now; he’s 27 months.


Leave a Reply

